Whats your kind of man?

Listening to Ruby’s Okay at home with friends trying to console one of us whose relationship just ended and she made the comment, “he wasn’t even my kind of man”. I asked who is your kind of man? I started wondering why we ladies always say that especially if its no longer going well.

Its not the type of man we want as if we really know what we want sometimes. Some of us see a guy, he is cute and loaded and we just hop in for the ride.

I once saw a movie where a woman who very smart and intelligent always in control was indecisive about men. So one of the men she liked but wasn’t sure of, asked her to make a list of what she wants in a man. For someone who is always in control she was speechless and needed time. Well it took her 2 weeks to come up with a list. It got me thinking, whose my kind of man, David Beckham? I decided to write my own list of what I wanted in a man. Tall,handsome,good in bed,good listener, all these and more. So any man that I meet my brain automatically clicks back to my list and if they don’t meet the requirement, I keep on walking forward. I asked my friends to write their own lists as well and everyone came up with the same thing, handsome, tall, basically the likes of George Clooney, Orlando Bloom, Brad Pitt. We didn’t want to be realistic.

I was once invited to a program in a church and the pastor preached about the kind of men we ask God for. Why ask God for a God fearing man when God gives you that man and he is always going to church everyday, every aspect of his life is wrapped round the church, you begin to complain. Or you ask for the type of man that is cool and about town and then you complain he is always out. As the pastor said this, we ladies laughed though it was funny if you really sit down and think he had a point.

I know someone who asked God for the kind of man she is married to now and she got her wish. She has never been happier . There is a saying that there is power in your tongue, all you need is faith and hope. Do you want the kind of man that heats the shower for you after a long day at work and rubs your feet while you tell him how your day went.

Look at your men now and conclude whether he is your kind of man. If not you could just make a list and decide if that suits you but you should bear in mind that there is no such thing as a perfect man.

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

